“Have you seen my glasses?”


Glasses Graphic With the obvious evidence that I was actually growing older, I finally accepted my fate and was recently fitted for a pair of “reading” glasses. Now and for evermore, the phrase “have you seen my glasses” will be part of my vernacular.

This got me thinking about how many businesses out there have been putting off “getting glasses” when it comes to looking closely at their customers and prospects. Or, for those that do have glasses, when was the last time they had the prescription checked and adjusted? In one of my previous articles, “Who are your best customers“, I explored the ways to take a closer look at your customers and why it’s important to do so regularly.

Over the years, I have spoken with many business owners and sales & marketing leaders, and I have found that the smaller the company, the more likely it is that they have not recently examined their customers (and have no plans to do so!). I find this interesting because the small business is probably the least likely to afford marketing to the wrong audience.

Building on the concepts I discussed in “Who are your best customers“, I am writing an article on calculating the Return on Marketing Investment (ROMI)and would like to hear your answers to the question “How do you decide how and what to spend on marketing?”

About markdonatelli
I am a Marketing Technology Evangelist with a passion for combining common sense with a sprinkle of technology to solve today's marketing challenges.

One Response to “Have you seen my glasses?”

  1. Pingback: “You Put Your Chocolate in My Peanut Butter!” « marketing + technology

Let me know what YOU think!

